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Volcanic Island

Voodoo Doll

1.2 Vaevictis Asmadi

Vaevictis Asmadi

As errata, it is of type "Summon Legend" and not "Summon Elder Dragon
Legend". [Encyclopedia Page 60]

Card Information

1.3 Vampiric Tutor

Vampiric Tutor

The payment of 2 life is part of the casting cost and is paid on
announcement. You do not have a choice to pay this cost zero times or
more than one time in order to multiply the effect. [D’Angelo 01/28/97]

+ This one works differently from the other Mirage tutor cards when Field of
Dreams is in play. You reveal the top card after shuffling and before the
tutored card is put on top, then you reveal the tutored card. The other
tutors only show the tutored card. [bethmo 06/21/97]

Card Information

1.4 Varchild’s War Riders

Varchild’s War Riders

The token creatures are controlled by your opponent, but they are owned by
you. This means you can use a Despotic Scepter on them. [bethmo 01/09/97]

Card Information

1.5 Venarian Gold

Venarian Gold

As errata, it should read "When Venarian Gold comes into play, put X
counters on Venarian Gold and tap enchanted creature. That creature..."
[Encyclopedia Page 162] The Encyclopedia said "each" when it should say
"enchanted". [D’Angelo 01/22/97]
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Once all the counters are gone, it just sits there as an inert enchantment.
[bethmo 06/17/94]

If the enchantment is moved with Enchantment Alteration, the number of
counters is set to 0 (since X is zero while a card is in play) and is
not increased or left the same. [D’Angelo 07/15/96] This is based on a
ruling made by the Rules Team on 9/22/95 regarding Cocoon.

Card Information

1.6 Venom

Venom

As errata, it should read "Whenever enchanted creature blocks or is blocked
by a non-wall creature, destroy that creature at end of combat."
[Encyclopedia Page 46]

A non-wall creature blocking or any creature blocked by this card gets a
"destroy at end of combat" effect on it when it is assigned as a blocker
or this card is assigned to block it. An effect is added to a creature
which becomes a blocker by any means, including being part of a band which
is blocked or by being moved into blocking or being blocked by an effect
such as General Jarkeld. This effect stays even if the creature is
removed from the blocking situation by an effect like General Jarkeld.
[WotC Rules Team 09/22/95]

If this enchantment is moved onto a creature after blockers are assigned,
creatures blocking the newly enchanted creature are not affected. This
is because the effect triggers on at the time blocking occurs.
[D’Angelo 12/13/96]

Card Information

1.7 Venomous Breath

Venomous Breath

As errata, it should read "All creatures that are blocking or blocked
by target creature are destroyed at end of combat."
[Encyclopedia Page 101]

It only affects creatures blocking the target when this spell resolves.
[Aahz 09/19/96] The effect will still happen even if the creature stops
being a blocker after the effect resolves. General Jarkeld is one way
to do this. [D’Angelo 09/19/96]

Card Information

1.8 Verduran Enchantress
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Verduran Enchantress

See the Activation Cost entry in the General Rulings for more information
on what "use this effect only once" means.

The effect is a triggered effect. Whenever you successfully cast an
enchantment, you immediately get the option of drawing a card. This
draw effect resolves immediately. It does not wait for other spells
to be announced or resolved. [Aahz 01/07/95]

Does not trigger on the moving of an enchantment from one permanent to
another. [D’Angelo 07/25/95]

Does trigger on enchantments that are cast as instants.
[Duelist Magazine #16, Page 28]

The Fourth Edition version has an activation cost while the Limited,
Unlimited, and Revised Editions just had an ability.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 11]

Card Information

1.9 Vesuvan Doppelganger

Vesuvan Doppelganger

See the Copy Cards entry in the General Rulings for more information.

+ As errata, it should read "When Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play, it
acquires all characteristics except color of target creature. During
controller’s ..." [Encyclopedia Page 55] This errata is a bit flawed.
It should say "Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play with all the
characteristics except ...". The above text erroneously looks like a
triggered effect. [DeLaney 07/11/97]

The Doppelganger of an artifact creature can be Shattered or Disenchanted.

Can only switch creatures once per upkeep phase.
[Duelist Magazine #2, Page 15] It is a phase effect.

Cannot switch to the same creature it is currently a copy of. But if
there are two of those creatures, it could copy one on one upkeep and
copy the other the next. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 100]

Any upkeep costs on externally imposed on the Doppelganger must be paid
before it can change forms. [Aahz 01/14/97]

The Doppelganger can switch forms before paying upkeep on the current form.
This is because the form switching ability is on the core card while the
upkeep is considered to be on the form it currently has. Unpaid upkeep
costs on the form will not prevent it from switching. [Aahz 11/08/96]

If switching to a creature, the upkeep costs of the new for must be paid
before the end of upkeep (if the creature has any).
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[Duelist Magazine #3, Page 15]

Damage is not removed when it changes forms. [D’Angelo 09/09/95]

Animating a dead Doppelganger gets all the Doppelganger’s abilities but
it mimics at -1 power. [WotC Rules Team 02/07/94]

The "normal characteristics" text means that you treat the Doppelganger
as having the exact same text on it as the original card had. This
includes name, casting cost, power/toughness, etc. It does not gain
any enhancements the original creature may have had temporarily through
Instants like Giant Growth or through Enchantments. [bethmo]

When the Doppelganger switches creatures, the creature it used to be is
considered to have left play. This means that if it was a Gaea’s
Liege, converted lands revert to their old form, and that if it was
Aladdin, stolen artifacts return to the owner as normal. [bethmo]

When it switches forms, the new form is not considered to be entering play.
Effects that trigger off it entering play, even on the card itself, will
not trigger. Thus, switching to a Pyknite will not allow you to draw a
card. [D’Angelo 12/21/95]

If it is a Tetravus and changes forms to something else (leaving some
Tetravite tokens in play) then changes back to a Tetravus later, the old
tokens will not consider this to be the same Tetravus they came from, so
they will not be able to move onto the Doppelganger/Tetravus.
[Aahz 03/02/96]

Whenever it changes forms, it "resets" and loses any counters or other
gains it made as the creature it was originally copying.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123] This affects creatures like Clockwork
Beast, Fungusaur, Sengir Vampire and Thallids. If any of those gains
resolve after the change resolves, the gain is removed immediately after
it takes effect. For example, if you pay B to use a Frozen Shade ability
and respond to it by changing forms, the form change resolves first, then
the +1/+1 resolves and ends immediately. [D’Angelo 10/01/96]

When changing forms, it keeps counters due to enchantments, effects of
other spells or permanents, and targeted effects due to its own abilities
whether or not they are not represented by counters.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123] This includes things like a Giant Growth,
pumping up using Fire Breathing, or even use of Dwarven Warriors’ or
Dwarven Weaponsmith’s _targeted_ abilities. It does not include
non-targeted abilities like the Frozen Shade’s "B:+1/+1" ability or
counters such as the Sengir Vampire gets. Also, if switching from a
Thallid, Spore counters gained as the Thallid are lost, but ones from
Fungal Bloom will stay in case they are useful later.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123]

When changing forms, the text changes from Magical Hack and Sleight of Mind
are lost in the change along with the old text. [D’Angelo 02/27/95]

When changing forms, it does not get any counters that the creature being
copied would have received when cast, although it would get those counters
when cast. [WotC Rules Team 02/27/94] Thus, a Doppel of a Clockwork
Beast would get counters if it copied the Beast when cast, but would not
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get any if it changes form to a Clockwork Beast.

The Shyft color is a built in ability and the color set is lost when
changing away from this form. [WotC Rules Team 10/18/95]

A Doppelganger of a Clone is just a copy of the creature the Clone
copied. [PPG Page 224]

A Doppelganger of a Doppelganger is just a copy of the creature the other
one was copying. It does not nest abilities and give you multiple
form switches a turn. [D’Angelo 11/11/96]

This spell is targeted, so a creature with Protection from Blue cannot be
copied. [WotC Rules Team]

The Doppelganger is targeted and will check the validity of the target
when declared and when resolved. If the target becomes invalid before
resolution on casting the Doppelganger, then the spell fizzles. If it
becomes invalid before resolution of a shape change, then the change
fizzles and it keeps its current form. [WotC Rules Team 02/09/95]
If it fizzles, it may not try to switch forms again that turn.
[Aahz 01/14/97]

The Doppelganger is treated as a Summon Creature card even if it is
copying an artifact creature. Thus, spells that affect Summon Creatures,
such as Dance of Many, can be used on a Doppelganger of anything.
[Aahz 09/15/94]

When it switches forms, cumulative upkeep on the creature it was copying
stops and any new cumulative upkeep for the new form starts over. If the
cumulative upkeep is on the Doppelganger itself, however, it does not
reset. [Aahz 03/02/96]

When it takes on the characteristics of the other card, it is still of type
Summon Doppelganger and it still has the switching ability. These
characteristics are all that it keeps. It does not keep the name
Vesuvan Doppelganger. [Aahz 03/18/97]

+ When it changes forms, it does not trigger any "comes into play" abilities
and it is not a new creature "entering play" for effects such as Eye of
Singularity. [Aahz 07/09/97]

Card Information

1.10 Veteran Bodyguard

Veteran Bodyguard

If a creature is blocked but Trample damage is still done to a player,
this damage cannot be redirected to the Bodyguard because the Bodyguard
only takes damage from unblocked creatures. [bethmo]

If a creature which does Trample damage is not blocked, the damage is
taken by the Bodyguard. The damage loses its Trample nature. [Snark]
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Damage goes to the Bodyguard as long as he is untapped. This works
even if he is blocking. [Peterson 11/01/94]

The redirection takes place automatically at the end of the first step of
damage prevention. This is not a fast effect used during damage
prevention but you can use other prevention effects before this one
kicks in. If there is more than one automatic effect, the person
damaged can choose which order to apply them. This damage will result
in a second damage prevention step to follow this one.
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

Cannot be used against spell or other non-creature attack damage. Note
that the Prodigal Sorcerer and other creatures have non-attack ways to
deliver damage, but only attacking creature damage can be used on a
Bodyguard.

Only usable on damage from unblocked attacking creatures that is dealt due
to the attack. Any damage from effects (even while it is attacking and
is unblocked) is not valid. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 99]

Redirected damage retains its color and any other abilities. [Snark]

If a Martyr of Korlis is in play, unblocked artifact creature damage must
go to a Martyr because its text overrides the Veteran Bodyguard. All
other unblocked creature damage can and will be taken by your Veteran
Bodyguard. [Aahz]

If you have more than one Bodyguard, only one takes the damage, because once
the damage is redirected, it no longer exists to be directed to other
bodyguards. [WotC Rules Team 12/03/96] You can choose which one takes
the damage when you decide the order of resolution of such effects.

In the Limited and Unlimited Editions, the Bodyguard did not state that
only one of them could take damage during a given turn, but this turns
out to be true under the current rules anyway. One the damage is
redirected to one of them, the damage no longer exists to be redirected
to any others. [WotC Rules Team 12/03/96]

Card Information

1.11 Veteran’s Voice

Veteran’s Voice

Is buried if you lose control of the creature since the card text says it
is played on a creature you control. [Duelist Magazine #12, Page 32]

Can be used even on a creature with summoning sickness. Summoning sickness
does not prevent an effect like this from tapping a creature.
[D’Angelo 12/18/96]

Card Information
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1.12 Vexing Arcanix

Vexing Arcanix

The target player names a card on announcement and not on resolution.
[WotC Rules Team 06/27/96]

If the player has no cards in their library, the effect does nothing. It
does not cause any damage. [WotC Rules Team 05/08/96]

Card Information

1.13 Vibrating Sphere

Vibrating Sphere

It is possible for the Sphere to kill a creature prior to the start of
untap. [Aahz 07/23/96]

Card Information

1.14 Vision Charm

Vision Charm

As errata, it should read "are the basic land type of your choice."
[WotC Rules Team 03/14/97] Non-basic lands are not allowed. (REVERSAL)

All lands changed are changed to the same type. [Visions FAQ 02/16/97]

Card Information

1.15 Visions

Visions

You cannot rearrange the cards. You put them back in the same order or
you shuffle the whole library. [bethmo 08/31/94]

If there are less than 5 cards in the the library, you look at whatever ones
remain and you still get the option to shuffle.
[Duelist Magazine #6, Page 130]

This is not a draw and will not cause a player to lose if there are less
than 5 cards in the library. [Duelist Magazine #6, Page 130]

Card Information
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1.16 Vodalian Knights

Vodalian Knights

As errata, it should read "...Vodalian Knights may not attack unless
defending player controls at least one island..." [Encyclopedia Page 192]

1.17 Vodalian War Machine

Vodalian War Machine

The Merfolk are tapped during announcement and as a cost.
[Duelist Magazine #11, Page 56] The effect cannot be announced if the
Merfolk are not in an untapped state. [D’Angelo 12/23/96]

It cannot override "summoning sickness", so it cannot attack on the turn it
is brought into play. [WotC Rules Team 12/15/94]

Card Information

1.18 Volcanic Eruption

Volcanic Eruption

Targets the specified number of mountains, so you can’t use it for more
damage than you can find mountains to target. [PPG Page 223]

Can be used with X equal to zero. This is useful if no Mountains are in
play. [bethmo]

You must pick which Mountains are targeted when the spell is cast.
[WotC Rules Team 02/07/94]

Casting Magical Hack on Volcanic Eruption will not allow you to change the
targets of the spell because you chose the targets when the spell was
declared and before a Hack can interrupt it. The Hack will just cause
it to fizzle. [WotC Rules Team 02/07/94] It may not fizzle on multilands
that are half mountain and half of the new land type specified.

The Limited/Unlimited Edition version of this card does X damage even if
some of the Mountains are removed. This is because the damage is in no
way tied to the number of mountains destroyed, just the number of mountains
originally targeted. It does zero damage, however, if all the mountains
are removed since a spell fizzles if all of its targets are invalid.
The Revised Edition version of this card only does damage for each land
destroyed. [D’Angelo 07/15/96]

Card Information
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1.19 Volcanic Island

Volcanic Island

See Badlands for rulings.

Volcanic Island was not in the Alpha printing of the Limited Edition.

Card Information

1.20 Voodoo Doll

Voodoo Doll

As errata, it should read "At the beginning of your upkeep, put one pin
counter on Voodoo Doll. If Voodoo Doll is untapped at the end of your
turn, it deals X damage to you, where X is equal to the number of pin
counters on Voodoo Doll, and is buried. (X)(X),(Tap): Voodoo Doll deals
X damage to target creature or player, where X is equal to the number of
pin counters on Voodoo Doll." [Encyclopedia Page 208]
[Duelist Magazine #15, Page 28]

All of the ’X’s on this card refer to the number of counters on the card.
Paying twice the number of counters and tapping the Doll does damage
equal to the number of counters. [bethmo 06/15/94]

If Power Artifact is applied to the Doll, each activation will cost X+X-2
with a minimum cost of 1. [Aahz 07/25/94]

Adding a counter to the Doll is considered an upkeep cost. This cost must
be paid before you can use the card. [Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123]

The Chronicles version gets a counter at the beginning of upkeep while the
Legends version got one at any time during upkeep.
[Duelist Magazine #7, Page 101]

Card Information
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